All the World’s a Page


That rather snappy title has nothing to do with this weeks blog, which is slightly earlier than usual as the management and I are off to Palermo for a week to soak up the culture, the red wine and possibly the opera…..but mostly the red wine.

Firstly progress on the novel. Have spent most of the week rewriting and plotting so the word count has only gone up to 36k. However I am much happier with where it is and how it is going than I was last week. The main issue was the introduction of a new character and the transition between two chapters that originally was just not working.  I suspect this is because of my slightly weird first person narrative style which is forcing me to be quite inventive in having to keep Perrin present in the story, even when It would be arguably better to have an alternative narrative perspective.

The main thing I wanted to share with you was some artwork ideas I have been working on. Although a rank amateur in this area, I have dabbled in the past designing the cover art for my band Strange Boudoir

Originally I had this idea, based on the Thames but with a slightly computer grid feel.

COVER 1

However thanks to the magic that is Google images I found some really cool illustrations of 1830’s computer architecture, one of which I really like and that also alludes to some of the themes and characters in the book, which for the sake of inscrutability I will not divulge here. So here is the current working cover for the book. Enjoy and see you in a week or so.Slide1

About lighthouseindesert

I am a recently deliberately unemployed individual who has decided somewhat foolishly to write a novel
This entry was posted in artwork, first novel, Plot development, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

