The Final Chapter


Short and sweet this week. I have started the last chapter in the book. No, I stand corrected. I have started the last chapter of the first draft. Not so impressive, but strangely satisfying. I have got here. I know how it is going to end. There is sense of achievement. When I first started this project, I had no real idea whether or not I would, or could finish it. I had no track record, only several pantomimes and a few sketches. Of course I am adept at fiction, having written a lot of PR in the past.

So here I sit with a story in front of me. Whether good, bad or indifferent, that is a decision still in the future, and one for others to decide. For myself, it is enough to have (nearly) finished, to prove to myself that I am capable of creating a tale, where no tale existed before. If nothing else it is unique. I have found a voice, created some characters with whom I enjoy spending time with, wondering what they are thinking and feeling. It has been fun finding out what happens next. The core of the next book is already mapped out. There is another story to tell that leads from this one. There is already something beyond this, which is good.

So, the plan is now thus. Finish the first draft this week. Spend the next few weeks revising and re-writing with the aim of having a finished manuscript that I feel comfortable in sending to prospective agents interested in the realms of speculative historical fiction with a side order of Sci-fi.

I don’t think that is going to be a very long list.

See you next week.

About lighthouseindesert

I am a recently deliberately unemployed individual who has decided somewhat foolishly to write a novel
This entry was posted in first novel, Plot development, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

